Home > Workbodies > PCSO

The strategic and organizational issues of the ICID are addressed by the Permanent Committee on Strategy and Organization (PCSO).The Committee provides the platform to set the strategic directions for the Commission and deals with, among others, ways and means to enhance the membership of the Commission, assist the National Committees to broad-base their activities, specific issues of various regions and specific groupings of countries and involvement of Young Professional's in the irrigation, drainage and flood management issues in general, and in the activities of the Commission in particular.

Issues of irrigation, drainage, and flood management are different and therefore each of the region’s activities are coordinated by the respective Regional Working Groups named after four major regions viz. Africa, America (North & South), Asia (including Oceania), and Europe: African Regional Working Group (AFRWG); Asian Regional Working Group (ASRWG); American Regional Working Group (AMRWG); and the European Regional Working Group (ERWG).


Besides regional working groups, PCSO also addresses the issues in the States under Socio-Economic Transformation; Congresses/ Conferences; and Young Professional's e-Forum. PCSO also oversees the organizational issues related to the ICID Triennial Congresses.


Mandate : The Committee shall be concerned with increasing the number of member countries and assisting the National Committees to become more active in their own countries to achieve the goals set for them from time to time. The Committee will also undertake issues related to strategic planning for ICID. The Committee will coordinate the activities of Vice Presidents in their areas.

Members: (1) Vice President Mr. Bong Hoon Lee, Chairman, (Korea, Rep. of, 2014); (2) Ms. Kathleen Heuvel, Vice Chair (Australia, 2016); (3) Vice President Dr. Ir. Basuki Hadimoeljono (Indonesia, 2013); (4) Vice President Mr. Kadhim Mohsin Ahmed (Iraq, 2013); (5) Vice President Er. A.B. Pandya (India, 2013); (6) Vice President Dr. Mohamed Abd-El-Moneim Wahba (Egypt, 2014); (7) Vice President Dr. Ding Kunlun (China, 2014); (8) Vice President Prof. Dr. Charlotte de Fraiture (The Netherlands, 2015); (9) Vice President Mr. Ian William Makin (UK, 2015); (10) Vice President Prof. Dr. Abdelhafid DEBBARH (Morocco, 2015); (11) Dr. (Mrs.) Irena G. Bondarik (Russia, 2016); (12) Mr. Waseem Nazir (Pakistan, 2016); (13) Er. Madhav Belbase (Nepal, 2016); and (14) Er. Avinash C. Tyagi, Secretary General, ICID.


Ex-Officio Members: (1) Chairman, African Regional Working Group; (2) Chairman, European Regional Working Group; (3) Chairman, Asian Regional Working Group; (4) Chairman, American Regional Working Group; (5) Chairman, Committee on Congresses/Conferences; and (6) Chairman, Working Group on Irrigation and Drainage in the States under Socio- Economic Transformation (WG-IDSST).


Permanent Observers: (i) FAO representative; (ii) World Bank representative; (iii) GWP representative; and (iv) WWC representative.


| AGENDA (Previous) | MINUTES (Previous) |


[Erstwhile Permanent Committee on Strategy Planning and Organizational Affairs (PCSPOA), renamed at 61st IEC Meeting, Yogyakarta, Indonesia, 2010]


International Research Program for Irrigation and Drainage (IRPID) - Scheme



Regional Working Groups:

Committee on Congresses/Conferences (C-CONGR)


Working Group on Irrigation and Drainage in the States under Socio-Economic Transformation (WG-IDSST)


ICID Young Professionals e-Forum (IYPeF)




© 2016 | ICID | 48 Nyaya Marg, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110021, India
Tel : 91-11-26116837, 91-11-26115679; Fax : 91-11-26115962, E-mail: icid@icid.org [ICID Map]

Follow ICID on: | Facebook| YouTube| LinkedIn| SlideShare

| Design by: Madhu Mohanan, ICID Central Office |