Home > Awards > WatSave > Winners of WatSave Awards 2018 > Previous WatSave Award Winners


WatSave Award Winner 2017 - Chris Norma

The major challenge facing irrigated agriculture today is producing more food using less water per unit of output i.e. increasing water productivity in both, irrigated and rainfed agriculture. This goal will only be achieved if the appropriate water saving technologies, management tools, and policies are in place. All those involved in irrigation water management – managers, farmers, workers need to be encouraged and guided, through appropriate policies and incentives, to save/ conserve water and to minimize wastages to mitigate negative environmental impacts.

Recognizing the need to encourage innovations in irrigation and drainage, ICID instituted WatSave Annual Award(s) in 1997 and are presented each year to recognize outstanding contributions to water conservation or water saving in agriculture. The Awards given to individuals or a team of individuals are made in respect of actual realized savings and not for promising research results, plans and/or good ideas/intentions to save water.


Nominations for the awards are received through the National Committees of ICID through a call sent out around the beginning of every calendar year. The award consists of an honorarium and a Citation.


WatSave — SCHEME


Young Professionals Award


This award is presented for promoting water saving technologies, innovative water management practices, original research leading to substantial water saving/ conservation etc. by young professionals (below 40 years).


Papers presented

Farmer Award


The WatSave Farmer Award is given to a farmer(s) for proven water saving success story to promote successful water conservation.


Papers presented



Winners of WatSave Awards 2018

The WatSave Awards are presented every year to promote and encourage the best technological applications or projects which have been successful in saving water. The International Panel of Judges of WatSave Awards 2018 headed by PH Dr. Saeed Nairizi (Iran) has adjudged the following as the winners:


1. Technology Award

Mr. John Hornbuckle, Mr. Jamie Vleeshouwer and Ms. Janelle Montgomery (Australia)

For their work on “IrriSAT, a weather-based irrigation management and benchmarking technology app providing site-specific crop water management information across large spatial scales at fine resolution using remote sensing”

2. Innovative Water Management Award

Mr. Richard Phillips (Canada)

For his work on “Alberta Irrigation Management Model (AIMM), a Decision Support System to assist irrigation producers better manage their irrigation water application efficiency and optimize crop production”

3. Young Professional


Mr. Amirali Fatahi and Ms. Fatemeh Sadat Mortazavizadeh (Iran)

For their work on “Generated Significant Savings in Irrigation Water by Adding Fuel from Livestock Wastes to Agricultural Land”




© 2016 | ICID | 48 Nyaya Marg, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110021, India
Tel : 91-11-26116837, 91-11-26115679; Fax : 91-11-26115962, E-mail: icid@icid.org [ICID Map]

Follow ICID on: | Facebook| YouTube| LinkedIn| SlideShare

| Design by: Madhu Mohanan, ICID Central Office |