Home > Workbodies > PCTA > WG--AFM >


Floods are important components of the natural hydrological regime. They are a major source of water; they flush pollutants and sediment from river networks. It is also natural for rivers to overtop their banks with greater or lesser frequency and occupy their flood plains. As a result, floods can cause property damage and bring death and injury to many communities. While there is no evidence as yet that the frequency or magnitude of flooding has increased world-wide, flood-prone areas are becoming increasingly more densely populated and thus more vulnerable. Consequently, a series of major flood disasters has occurred in recent years, with death and destruction being caused by such events in every continent..



“The task is not just to preserve water resources to sustain life, but also to reduce the capacity of water to take life away. …we can and must reduce the number and impact of disasters by building sustainable communities that have the long-term capacity to live with risk.”

--Kofi Annan, United Nations Secretary-General (8 October 2003)

Estd : 2018



  1. To motivate ICID National Committees in various countries to set up their National Working Groups;
  2. To provide guidance to compile, publish, update and/or translate documents on adaptive flood management;
  3. To promote inter-disciplinary exchange of information, knowledge and experience, as well as networking on the topic for proper understanding of the technological developments in the subject;
  4. To organize seminars at ICID Congresses and meeting to enhance deeper understanding of adaptation to and coping with floods including community participation with focus on impact of floods on agriculture water management;
  5. To prepare a paper on “Adaptive Flood Management” for publication in Irrigation and Drainage (IRD);
  6. To finalize a book on “Adaptive Flood Management”
Sl. No.
Name Country Membership
Dr. Kamran Emami  Iran  Chairman 
Dr. lkuo Yoshinaga Japan  Vice-Chair
3 Ms. Sahar Norouzi – Young Professional  Iran  Secretary
4 Engr. Syed Mahmood-ul-Hassan Pakistan  Member 
5 Eng. Hind Massoud  Sudan  Member 
6 Mr. Ahmad Bin Dakur  Malaysia  Member 
7 Engr. Abdullah Hassan Hussein  Somalia  Member 
8 Mr. Maurice Roos  USA Member 
9 Mr. Olli-Matti Verta Finland  Member 
10 Mr. R.K. Agarwal  India  Member 
11 Mr. Marcel Marchand  Netherland  Member 
12 Dr. Arthon Suttigam  Thailand  Member 
13 Dr. Rozalija Cvejic  Slovenia  Member 
14 Dr. Abdelilah Taky  Morocco  Member
15 Dato’s Ir. Mohd Azmi Bin Ismail  Malaysia  Provisional Member

| AGENDA (Previous) | MINUTES (Previous) |





© 2016 | ICID | 48 Nyaya Marg, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110021, India
Tel : 91-11-26116837, 91-11-26115679; Fax : 91-11-26115962, E-mail: icid@icid.org [ICID Map]

Follow ICID on: | Facebook| YouTube| LinkedIn| SlideShare

| Design by: Madhu Mohanan, ICID Central Office |